Registered Traveller Service

The Home Office offers a service to frequest fliers from certain low risk countries, and this now includes Tier 4 visa holders.

This service allows for quicker access through UK Ports of Entry by using the EU/UK and self service passport control channels. There is a charge currently a charge of £70 for this service and you will need to fly frequently, not just once or twice a year, to be eligible.

The countries currently included in the scheme are:

: Brunei, Hong Kong (must be a Special Administrative Region passport), Japan, Malaysia,  Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan (you must have a personal ID number on the photo page)
Australasia: Australia, New Zealand
Middle East: Israel
North America: Canada, Mexico, USA
South and Central America: Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Uruguay

You should also note that under the sheme you will need to arrive in the UK at one of the following airports:

  • Heathrow
  • Gatwick
  • Manchester
  • Stansted
  • Luton
  • Edinburgh
  • Birmingham
  • Glasgow
  • East Midlands
  • London City
Or through Eurostar Terminals at Brussels, Lille and Paris

Further information on the service is available on the GOV.UK website and the short video below outlining the service is from the Government Digital Service Blog.